Law Day Celebration

The 2024 Law Day Celebration welcomed guests from throughout the Boston legal community to celebrate the rule of law, the role of lawyers in our community and the strength of our legal network. Gathering at historic Boston Symphony Hall, attendees enjoyed an exceptional cocktail reception, live entertainment, and an inspirational program.

About the Event

Thursday, June 13, 2024
Boston Symphony Hall

The Boston Bar Association’s annual Law Day Celebration features an evening of insight and inspiration. Welcoming guests from throughout the Boston legal community, this networking event is an unparalleled celebration of the rule of law, the role of lawyers in our community, and the strength of the legal network in Boston!


Keynote Speaker

Dr. Danielle Allen is a renowned scholar in political philosophy, ethics, and public policy. She currently serves as the James Bryant Conant University Professor at Harvard University and Director of the Allen Lab for Democracy Renovation at Harvard Kennedy School’s Ash Center for Democratic Governance and Innovation.

A seasoned nonprofit leader and democracy advocate, she has made significant contributions to various fields including tech ethics, cannabis legalization, and public health policy. Dr. Allen also made history as the first Black woman ever to run for statewide office in Massachusetts during her gubernatorial campaign from 2020 to 2022. She continues to advocate for democracy reform through her organization, Partners In Democracy, and serves on multiple boards including the Massachusetts Board of Higher Education and the Democracy Fund.

2024 Honorees

The John G. Brooks Legal Services Award Recipient

Rosie’s Place

Read More

Rosie’s place was founded in 1974 as the first women’s shelter in the United States. Today, it is a vibrant multi-service community center that offers emergency shelter, meals, legal assistance, wellness care, one-on-one support, housing and job search services, and community outreach.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Gene Dahmen, Verrill Dana

Read More

Gene Dahmen graduated as one of just three women in her class at the University of Virginia Law School. Although she had, in her words, a very positive experience at UVA and continues to be deeply involved with the Law School, she also understood how it felt to be part of an underrepresented group. As a practicing attorney in the years prior to her election as the first woman President of the Boston Bar Association in 1987, she continued to see firsthand the harmful effects of treating women and minorities as “other.”

Thus, Dahmen made it her prime objective as BBA President to ensure that all Boston attorneys, regardless of race or gender, felt at home at the BBA.

Steering Committee

Committee Co-Chair
Yvonne Chan
Jones Day

Committee Co-Chair
Mandy Petrillo
Boston Red Sox

Deepika Bhayana
Dell EMC

Brandon Bigelow

Caitlyn Campbell
McDermott Will & Emery

Alvin Carter
Brown Rudnick

Eben Colby

Michael DiStefano
Todd & Weld

Angel Feng

David Friedman
Rubin & Rudman

Peter Haley
Nelson Mullins

Jennifer Ioli Connolly
Sherin & Lodgen

Nicole Levesque

Nina Pickering Cook
Anderson Kreiger

Maddy Rodriguez
Foley Hoag

Melanie Todmann
Mass General Brigham

David Tolley
Latham & Watkins

Sucharita Varanasi