Massachusetts State House.
Policy Library

Change Is Upon Us – Tracking Governor Baker’s Appointments

November 25, 2014

We’ve been scouring the news around here for information about our next governor.  We are interested to see what policy changes, will come with the change in leadership.  For now, we’ve been keeping track of Governor-Elect Baker’s appointments as we look forward to working with them in the coming years.  Here is a breakdown of his selections by position, starting with his complete transition team and followed by his chief of staff and the cabinet members named thus far:

Transition Team

Team Head – Jim Peyser – the Managing Director of NewSchools City Funds at NewSchools Venture Fund’s Boston Office.  He served as Chairman of the Massachusetts Board of Education for seven years under Governors Cellucci and Romney and as Undersecretary of Education and Special Assistant to the Governor for Charter Schools for Governor William Weld in addition to working for more than seven years as Executive Director of the conservative think tank Pioneer Institute.

State of the State Committee – Michael O’Brien is the lone remaining chair of this committee after the other individual selected, former transportation secretary Richard Taylor resigned.  O’Brien is Executive Vice President at Winn Companies and former city manager of Worcester.

Human Resources Committee – co-chaired by Deb Hicks and Danroy Henry.  Hicks is Senior Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and formerly worked at Harvard Medical School and Harvard Pilgrim Health Care (HPHC) where she was instrumental in helping HPHC move from receivership to profitability.  Henry is Chief of Human Resources and Corporate Social Responsibility at child-care provider Bright Horizons and formerly worked in HR roles at Pepsi and Reebok International and executive roles with Staples, Blinds To Go Superstores, and Fleet Boston Financial.

Better Government Committee – co-chaired by Stephen Goldsmith and Steve Poftak.  Goldsmith is the Daniel Paul Professor of the Practice of Government and Director of the Innovations in American Government Program at the Harvard Kennedy School of Government.  He previously served as mayor of Indianapolis and deputy mayor of New York, as well as chief domestic policy advisor to the George W. Bush campaign in 2000.  Poftak is Executive Director of the Rappaport Institute at the Harvard Kennedy School and former Director of the Center for Better Government at the Pioneer Institute.  He has researched and written scholarly articles on topics such as transportation policy, government efficiency, municipal finance, and job creation.  Prior to his work in academia he served in the Executive Office for Administration and Finance under Governor Romney.

Community Committee – co-chaired by Robert Lewis Jr. and Chrystal Kornegay.  Lewis Jr. is best known for his work in nonprofits and under Mayor Tom Menino.  He recently left his position as President for Programs at the Boston Foundation to start a new nonprofit called Home BASE, which leverages sports to engage boys and young men in Roxbury, Dorchester, and Mattapan.  Kornegay is President and CEO of Roxbury nonprofit Urban Edge, which works to produce and preserve affordable housing for rent and purchase as well as offering educational programming on housing and financial issues.

Schools Committee – co-chaired by Martin T. Meehan, Jr., and Beth Anderson.  Meehan is a former Congressman and current Chancellor of the University of Massachusetts Lowell.  He served in the US House of Representatives for over a decade representing Massachusetts 5th Congressional district, which at that time included the Lowell area.  He was best known for his advocacy on campaign finance reform and was a leader on gay rights issues, including the repeal of the so-called “don’t ask, don’t tell” policy.  Anderson is founder and Chief Executive of Phoenix Charter Academy Network.  This nonprofit runs two schools in Chelsea and Lawrence for disadvantaged youths and is looking to start a third in the Springfield area.

Healthcare Committee – co-chaired by Deb Enos and Keith Hovan.  Enos is the former CEO of Neighborhood Health Plan, who stepped down earlier this year.  She previously held positions at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts, Cambridge Eye Doctors, and the Hospital Corporation of America.  Hovan is President and CEO of the Southcoast Health System.  Prior to joining Southcoast, he was Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer at Danbury Hospital in Danbury, CT.

Jobs and Economy Committee – co-chaired by Jay Ash, Roger Crandall, and Karen Kaplan.  Ash is the City Manager of Chelsea.  He is a former State House aide to Majority Leader Richard Voke, former president of the Metropolitan Area Planning Council and founder of the Metro Mayors Coalition.  Roger Crandall is Chairman, President, and CEO of Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company, where he has worked since 1988.  He serves on the Governor’s Council of Economic Advisors.  Kaplan is Chairman and CEO of advertising firm Hill Holliday, where she rose through the ranks after first starting as a secretary in 1982.

Cabinet-Level Appointments (as of 11/25/14)

Chief of Staff – Steven Kadish is the Senior Vice President and Chief Operating Officer at Northeastern University.  He previously held leadership positions at Dartmouth College and Brigham and Women’s Hospital in addition to serving as Undersecretary of the Executive Office of Health and Human Services for Governor Romney.

Energy Environment Secretary – State Representative Matt Beaton of Shrewsbury is an environmental engineer who started his own energy efficient consulting company.

Undersecretary of Finance and Administration – Kristen Lepore is the Vice President of Government Affairs at Associated Industries of Massachusetts.  She is the former Deputy Chief of Staff and Director of Fiscal Policy for Governor Paul Cellucci.

Health and Human Services Secretary – Marylou Sudders is an Associate Professor at the Boston College School of Social Work.  She is the former Mental Health Commissioner and former president of the Massachusetts Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children.

Housing and Economic Development Secretary – Jay Ash, who is also serving on the Jobs and Economy transition team and is described above.

We have a keen interest in the process and are watching to see who will be appointed next.  We look forward to working with these and other members of the Baker Administration on issues surrounding the BBA’s mission such as access to justice, funding for the judicial system, and the legal profession.

– Jonathan Schreiber
Legislative and Public Policy Manager
Boston Bar Association