Share this event with friends and colleagues


Contact: Michael Avitzur
Director of Government Relations

Boston Bar Announces 2012-2013 Section Co-Chairs

Today, as the 10,000 member Boston Bar Association begins planning for its next program year, starting September 1, 2012, BBA President-Elect J.D. Smeallie released the names of the men and women who will co-chair the BBA's 24 Sections.

"Our strength is in the breadth and depth of our volunteer leadership," said BBA President-elect J.D. Smeallie, a partner at Holland & Knight. "The lawyers named to lead our Sections represent a talent pool enriched by the diversity of their respective backgrounds. They are drawn from law firms of all sizes, from the legal departments of businesses and non-profits, and from government, legal services, and academia."

Experts in their fields, BBA Section Co-Chairs serve for staggered two year terms. Incoming Co-Chairs are listed first, followed by continuing Co-Chairs:

Administration of Justice Bankruptcy
Judge John Cratsley (Ret.) - JAMS
Jeanne Darcey - Sullivan & Worcester LLP
Sara Shanahan - Sherin and Lodgen LLP
John Morrier - Casner & Edward, LLP
Business Transactions Civil Rights & Civil Liberties
Megan Gates - Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky and Popeo P.C.
Angela McConney Scheepers - Massachusetts Division of Administrative Law Appeals
Nicole Fitzpatrick - Akamai Technologies, Inc.
Anthony Scibelli - Hiscock & Barclay
College & Universities Criminal Law
Kathleen Rogers - Simmons College
Scott Lopez - Lawson & Weitzen, LLP
Lisa Tenerowicz - Rose, Chintz & Rose
Georgia Cristley - Dept. of Criminal Justice Information Services
Delivery of Legal Services Diversity & Inclusion
Samantha Morton - Medical Legal Partnership
Christina Miller - Suffolk County District Attorney's Office
Rosalyn Garbose Nasdor - Ropes & Gray LLP
Macey Russell - Choate Hall & Stewart LLP
Environmental Law Family Law
Ruth Silman - Nixon Peabody LLP
Jennifer Sevigney Durand - Schmidt & Federico P.C.
Cynthia Lewis - United States Environmental Protection Agency
Lee Peterson - McCarter & English, LLP
Financial Services Health Law
Karen O'Toole - Fidelity Investments
Julia Hesse - Choate Hall & Stewart LLP
Kevin Handly - Pierce Atwood, LLP
Leslie Joseph - Mt. Auburn Hospital
Immigration Law Intellectual Property
William Graves - Graves & Doyle
Russell Beck - Beck Reed Riden LLP
John Gallini - Morse, Barnes-Brown & Pendelton, PC
Matt Lowrie - Foley & Lardner LLP
International Law Labor & Employment
Christopher William - nSphere
Mark Burak - Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart, P.C.
Sam Mawn-Mahlau - Davis, Malm & D'Agostine, P.C.
Katherine Michon - Shiplesky Hartley Robb Casey Michon LLP
Litigation New Lawyers
Brad Croft - Ruberto, Israel & Weiner, P.C.
Paul Connors - Hinckley, Allen & Snyder LLP
Christopher Morrison - Jones Day
Merritt Dattel McGowan - Massachusetts Office of the Attorney General
Real Estate Senior Lawyers
Kathleen O'Donnell - Attorney at Law
Joe Steinfield  - Prince Lobel Tye LLP
Renee LeFevre - Boston Redevelopment Authority
Judge Margaret Hinkle (Ret.) - JAMS
Solo & Small Firm Tax
Matthew P. Fitzsimmons - The Law Office of Matthew P. Fitzsimmons
Natascha George - Bingham McCutchen LLP
Jeffrey L. Roelofs - The Law Offices of Jeffrey L. Roelofs, P.C.
Thomas Greenaway - KPMG, LLP
Tax Exempt Organizations Trusts & Estates
Elka Sachs - Krokidas & Bluestein LLP
Suma Nair - Goulston & Storrs - A Professional Corporation
Kelly Guarino - Lourie & Cutler, P.C.
Marc Bloostein - Ropes & Gray LLP
The Boston Bar Association traces its origins to meetings convened by John Adams, who provided pro bono representation to the British soldiers prosecuted for the Boston Massacre and went on to become the nation’s second president. Its mission is to advance the highest standards of excellence for the legal profession, facilitate access to justice, serve the community at large and promote diversity and inclusion.